# **Minutes**

of the annual meeting of the

# Council

held at 7.00 PM on Wednesday 18 May 2011 at the Guildhall, ABINGDON



Open to the public, including the press

#### Present:

Beth Fleming (Chairman) – in the chair for the election of Chairman.

Councillors: John Amys, Marilyn Badcock, Mike Badcock, Matthew Barber, Eric Batts, Julia Bricknell, Yvonne Constance, Roger Cox, Jane Crossley, Charlotte Dickson, Tony de Vere, Gervase Duffield, Jason Fiddaman, Timothy Foggin, Debby Hallett, Jim Halliday, Jenny Hannaby, Anthony Hayward, Dudley Hoddinott, Holly Holman, Simon Howell, Bob Johnston, Bill Jones, Peter Jones, Mohinder Kainth, Angela Lawrence, Pat Lonergan, Sandy Lovatt, Ron Mansfield, Sue Marchant, Julie Mayhew-Archer, Aiden Melville, Gill Morgan, John Morgan, Michael Murray, Jerry Patterson, Helen Pighills, Kate Precious, Judy Roberts, Fiona Roper, Robert Sharp, Janet Shelley, Alison Thomson, Melinda Tilley, Margaret Turner, Reg Waite, Elaine Ware, Richard Webber and John Woodford

**Officers:** David Buckle, Steve Bishop, Steven Corrigan, Steve Culliford, Adrian Duffield, William Jacobs, Clare Kingston, Matt Prosser, Margaret Reed and Anna Robinson

Number of members of the public: 5

# Co.1 Prayers

Reverend SokHaan Yong of St Helen's Church, Abingdon offered prayers.

#### Co.2 Election of Chairman

**RESOLVED:** to appoint Councillor Alison Thomson as Chairman of the council for the ensuing year.

Beth Fleming presented Councillor Alison Thomson with the chain of office.

Councillor Alison Thomson read out the oath of office, signed her declaration of acceptance of office, presented Beth Fleming with the past Chairman's badge and made an acceptance speech.

Beth Fleming reviewed her time as Chairman of the Council and thanked councillors, Val Shaw, her Vice-Chairman, her family and Mark Hewer for their support.

Councillor Alison Thomson in the chair.

#### Co.3 Election of Vice-Chairman

**RESOLVED:** to appoint Councillor Sue Marchant as Vice-Chairman of the council for the ensuing year.

The Chairman presented Councillor Sue Marchant with the Vice-Chairman's chain of office.

Councillor Sue Marchant read out the oath of office, signed her declaration of acceptance of office and made an acceptance speech.

## Co.4 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors Andrew Crawford and Jane Hanna.

#### Co.5 Minutes

**RESOLVED:** to approve the minutes of the meeting held on 23 February 2011.

#### Co.6 Declarations of interest

None.

## Co.7 Urgent business and chairman's announcements

The Chairman advised Council that her chosen charities for her year of office are Help for Heroes and South and Vale Carers.

## Co.8 Urgent business

None.

# Co.9 Petitions under standing order No.13

None.

#### Co.10 Election of Leader of Council

**RESOLVED:** to elect Councillor Matthew Barber as Leader of Council for a four year period ending on the day of the next post election annual meeting.

Councillor Matthew Barber appointed Councillor Roger Cox as the Deputy Leader of Council and Councillors Yvonne Constance, Reg Waite and Elaine Ware as Cabinet members with portfolios as follows:

Councillor Matthew Barber - Leader, Corporate Strategy, Finance Councillor Roger Cox - Deputy Leader, Planning and Housing Councillor Yvonne Constance - Legal and Democratic, HR, IT & Customer Services

Councillor Reg Waite - Commercial Services

Councillor Elaine Ware - Economy and Leisure and Property.

Vale of White Horse District Council - Council minutes

Councillor Matthew Barber advised Council that he would make appointments to the following executive joint committees shortly and did not propose any changes to the current executive scheme of delegation as set out in the council's constitution:

Oxfordshire Waste Partnership
Oxfordshire Supporting People
Ridgeway Shared Service Partnership Strategic Board
Joint Senior Management Board to be renamed the Joint Cabinet Board.

# Co.11 Appointments to committees, joint bodies and outside bodies

Council considered report no 1/11 of the head of legal and democratic services on the appointment of those committees required to be politically balanced together with the Licensing Acts Committee and the Standards Committee.

#### **RESOLVED to:**

- appoint the committees and panels for the 2011/12 year, allocate seats to each political group and appoint councillors to sit on them in accordance with the wishes of the political groups as set out in the booklet entitled "membership of meetings and representation on outside bodies" circulated at the meeting;
- 2. appoint chairmen and vice-chairmen as set out in the booklet entitled "membership of meetings and representation on outside bodies" circulated at the meeting;
- 3. reappoint the Standards Committee comprising five district councillors, four independent members and three local council representatives as set out in the booklet entitled "membership of meetings and representation on outside bodies" circulated at the meeting;
- 4. appoint all local members representing the wards covered by the relevant area committees as set out in minute Co.16 of the Council held on 21 May 2003 to those committees for the 2011/12 municipal year;
- 5. agree that members of a political group who are not voting members of a committee shall be substitute members with four preferred substitutes as set out in the "membership of meetings and representatives on outside bodies" booklet subject to the following exceptions:
  - (a) In the case of the Standards Committee there shall be no substitute members;
  - (b) In the case of the area committees there shall be no substitute members;
  - (c) In the case of the Personnel Committee there shall be up to eight named substitute members as set out in the "membership of meetings and representatives on outside bodies" booklet as well as the Leader and Opposition Leader who shall in addition to those eight named substitute members be substitute members also if not appointed to the committee:
  - (d) In the case of the Planning Committee, the right to act as a substitute member shall be open to all councillors of the same group but

Vale of White Horse District Council - Council minutes

- restricted to those who have received appropriate training;
- (e) In the case of the Licensing Acts Committee there shall be no substitute members as this is not permitted;
- (f) In the case of the General Licensing Committee there shall be up to eight named substitute members as set out in the "membership of meetings and representation on outside bodies" booklet circulated at the meeting;
- 8. authorise the head of legal and democratic services to make appointments to the vacant committee positions in the "membership of meetings and representation on outside bodies" document circulated at the meeting, in accordance with the wishes of the relevant group leader; and
- 9. authorise the head of legal and democratic services to make appointments to the vacant positions on outside bodies in the "membership of meetings and representation on outside bodies" document circulated at the meeting, following consultation with the group leaders.

## Co.12 Adjournment of meeting

#### **RESOLVED**

To adjourn the meeting of the Council to permit meetings to take place of the Licensing Acts Committee and the General Licensing Committee, to allow them to appoint sub-committees, their members and agree their terms of reference.

The Council adjourned at 7.35pm.

The Council reconvened at 7.40pm.

### Co.13 Recommendations from the executive and committees

None.

#### Co.14 Virements

None.

# Co.15 Report of the Leader of Council

See minute Co.10.

#### Co.16 Code of conduct

Members received and noted an agenda item which reminded them to complete their register of interests form by 3 June 2011 and register any amendments gifts and hospitality within 28 days.

## Co.17 Exempt information

None.

The meeting closed at 7.45pm